Country 929


State Farm

Simpsons Fence

All Canadian Workshop


Value Village

Rock Auto

Jim Jones pulled off a win for the ages on Saturday night, as the 53-year-old Chatham driver won the Lube Tech/Great Canadian Oil Change UMP Late Model championship race.

Jones ran second for 23 laps before taking the lead when Ridgetown’s Dale Glassford slowed in turn four coming around to take the two-to-go signal.

Jones held off Chatham’s Kirk Hooker on the green-white checkered for his third career championship race win.

“I’m thinking I was settling in for second place, I was giving him a whirl at times, and when I seen him slow up, I’m thinking, ‘this can’t be,’ ” Jones said about taking the lead from Glassford.

“When they said ‘green-white-checkered,’ I said to myself, ’settle down, let’s get this race over with and don’t let anyone get by,’ ” he said.

“I guess I was due,” Jones said with a smile.

Jones, whose career began in 1976 as a 15-year-old when South Buxton was still known as Raleigh Raceway, won both the Late Model and the Great Lakes Late Model championship races along with the points title in 2004.

It was his first feature win since June 19, 2010.

Hooker hung on for second, followed by Charing Cross’s Chris Ross, Chatham’s Erick Walker and Blenheim’s Reid Gill.

Glassford said the belt came off the fuel pump, costing him the win.

Chatham’s Gregg Haskell, who wrapped up his second straight Late Model points championship two weeks ago, had motor issues before the race night. He dropped to the back of the field for the green flag and went to the pits, finishing 13th.

Leamington’s Joel Dick led all 30 laps to win his second Schinkels Gourmet Meats UMP Modified championship race in the last three years.

Dick held off a furious challenge from Chatham’s Louis Clements over the waning laps.

A pair of eight-time track champions - Shrewsbury’s Jim Dale Jr. and Merlin’s Brad McLeod - finished third and fourth while Belle River’s Mario Toniolo rounded out the top five.

Chatham’s Darryl Hoekstra clinched the Modified points championship with his fourth-place finish in the heat.

He started on the pole but was penalized two spots for jumping the original green and then pitted with a flat-tire on lap eight.

Hoekstra rebounded for an eighth-place finish.

In the night’s three non-points feature races, Merlin’s Steve Shaw won the Windride Transportation Sport Stocks, Kingsville’s Rob Quick the Tirecraft Mini-Mod and Blenheim’s Jeff Schives the Bombers.

Please check back later Sunday for expanded coverage.

Exciting dirt track racing, every Saturday night
Grandstand Opens at 5:30 pm
Racing starts 7 pm

Upcoming Events
  • Events are coming soon, stay tuned!
News Archives